Membership - New & Renew
   Contact Us
   Donate - Feel Great

Serving South Georgian Bay since 1975


The 2016 Murray Jacob Clerkson Award

About the Award

The prestigious Murray Clerkson Award has been created by bequest to the Blue Mountain Foundation for the Arts by the late Mr. Clerkson, and is intended to celebrate the accomplishments of an outstanding, local, emerging, visual artist who demonstrates potential for significant contribution to the arts. It is given to an individual who has shown courage and determination in becoming an artist. Murray's wish is that the award would recognize an evolving or emerging artist, not yet professionally established, but who has reached a stage where he/she now possesses a body of work that indicates strength, purpose and commitment. The award is open to all artists working in any visual arts media or discipline.


About Murray Clerkson

December 12, 1933—March 10, 2009
Murray was born in Broadview, Saskatchewan, the youngest of 12 siblings. Murray attended the Vancouver School of Art and UBC, and then moved to Toronto to freelance as a fashion illustrator and painter. In Collingwood he was proprietor of the well loved Clerkson’s Country Furniture on Pine Street.

Clerkson was a well known local artist, eccentric, with a dramatic flair in his own art. Throughout his own career, he strongly supported new and emerging artists by investing in their work and freely and positively commenting on their achievement.


The BMFA is pleased to announce that the 2016 Winner is Heather Cook

Left to right: Chari-Lynn Reithmeier, Heather Cook and Yvonne Gibson

Other Finalists were:
Leah Denbok, Heather Goldsworthy, Sabrina Parrish and Leonora Husveti-Frenette.


Left to right: Chari-Lynn Reithmeier, Heather Goldsworthy, Sabrina Parrish, Leonora Husveti-Frenette, Leah Denbok, Heather Cook and Yvonne Gibson.

Together, Heather and the other four finalists of the Clerkson Award make up the 2016 Clerkson Awards Exhibition, which hanged in the Clerkson Gallery of the BMFA Arts Centre until June 26th, 2016.