Membership - New & Renew
   Contact Us
   Donate - Feel Great


Serving South Georgian Bay since 1975

The Robert G. Kemp Arts Award

While walking the russet remains of Autumn’s
unique palette I forget the sounds and invigoration
breezes that heralded last Spring’s arrival.

Even the warmth of July’s Summer sun escapes me
as I wait once more for Winter’s silence.

R.G. Kemp 1962

About Robert G. Kemp

Robert G. Kemp was a well known and loved artist in the Georgian Triangle, from the time he first built his chalet-studio in 1958 to the time of his death in 1988. From the book Robert G. Kemp’s, Paintings and Drawings of Rural Ontario (published by the Blue Mountain Foundation for the Arts), we learned that: “ It is no slight to be labeled a regional artist. Some of the finest painters of all time have stayed in their own backyards and made detailed studies of the changes in light and changes in the seasons: Kemp’s 25 year love affair with the people and landscapes of this area continues on today with the legacy of the Robert G. Kemp Arts Award.

About the Award

The Robert G. Kemp award was created by the Blue Mountain Foundation for the Arts in recognition of Kemp’s special contribution to the communities that surround the Blue Mountain. The $5000 Award is intended to provide encouragement or recognition for artistic development and is open to any individual or group residing in the Georgian Triangle whose project will provide a benefit to the community.
The Award was created in 1989 to encourage and recognize an individual or group residing in the South Georgian Bay area, which includes Collingwood, Creemore, Town of Blue Mountains, Stayner, Thornbury, Meaford and Wasaga Beach. It also includes the Townships of Clearview, Osprey, Sunnidale and St Vincent Euphrasia.
The deadline for submission of applications is the 2nd Wednesday in June, 5:00pm. Applications are available at various locations throughout the area or at the Arts Centre, 163 Hurontario St, Collingwood, or click here for an application.

About the BMFA

The Blue Mountain Foundation for the Arts has been the pre-eminent, non-profit arts organization in the Georgian Triangle for more than forty years. Through annual events such as the Story Telling Festival, Juried Art show and Winter’s Gift, we continue to support and promote the work of hundreds of talented artists who work in a wide range of creative fields. We support fine artists and artisans, musicians and writers through our community and Arts Centre programmes as well as through our monthly gallery shows.

Previous Award Winners:

1990 Willi Wildman
1991 Jody Geddes
1992 Christopher Ralph
1993 Jerry Prager
1994 Celebration Children’s Choir
1995 Jennifer Nichols
1996 Rachel Prince
1997 L.E. Shore Library
1998 Not Awarded
1999 Fleetwood Dancentre
2000 Jane Cooper-Wilson
2001 Friends of the Mad River
2002 Samantha Gorrie
2003 ARTWORK Group
2004 Kerry Garvey/John McIntyre
2005 Not Awarded
2006 Jason MacLaren
2007 Keli-Ann Pye Beshara
2008 Not Awarded
2009 Edward Seh Taylor
2010 Madeline Haney
2011 Store 54
2012 Arylie MacEachern
2013 Gaslight Tours
2014 Sara Sniderhan
2015 Julia White
2016 Andrea Renaldo
2017 The Magic of Children in the Arts